Facing Reality. Its all about the pie.

I am here to say that this journey has been one of the hardest things I have ever done in my life.  I have been through some rough stuff. I had my first kid at 17 and raised him alone for some time.  I was using drugs and alcohol regularly at age 14.

But changing your lifestyle and making drastic diet changes in a family surrounded by others who do not see eye to eye is a new level of difficulty for me. I am a sugar-holic and I live in a family who love sugar.  I used to make amazing pies for the holidays.  I am still expected to continue my old ways.  This is one thing that I simply cannot do.  Not because I don’t love them and want to make things nice for them.  I cannot do what I have always done because I now know the truth about the dangers of sugar and I simply cannot make a sugary pie and not taste it.  I love them and dont want to feed them sugar and processed food.  For me this means physical misery and pain. Blistering and itching. Physical throbbing in my kidneys aching for days.

This has drastically changed our family dynamics and made me out to be the bad guy.  Holidays will never be the same without my pies.  This goes for my husband, kids, my extended family as well as my in laws.  I pray this isn’t the case for you along your journey to health but if so, you are not alone.

My husband made a comment the other day.  “I am heartbroken over pie.” Referring to our kids not being able to enjoy my pies for Thanksgiving.   I had ruined another holiday.  While this seems silly. He was serious and lives for pie on Thanksgiving as it is all about the pie.

Sadly, its not about the health of those you love or that many go without food and shelter but about the pie.

I woke from a dream the other morning as I was in my dream trying to find a paper and pen to write down advise I was offering my niece.  Here it is.

“Reality is hard, face it.  If I don’t face reality, I must face my own stupidity.”. 

I don’t know about you, but this struck hard.  So hard I had to wake up to write it down.  I laugh at that one.  I thought it was brilliant.

Stupidity, to me, means anything that I am unaware or havent learned yet.  Since learning about all the detriments of sugar and poor food choices, I must daily chose to FACE REALITY…

A heavy subject but just being REAL today.

This is to my friends who are facing the same struggle of going against popular vote.

You can do the difficult.  All things are possible.

Philippians 4:12-14 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles.

Author: Healing Foodie

I am a mother of four children and 120 pounds on a heavy day. I grew up eating the average American diet and seemed pretty healthy until I found myself exhausted and struggling with kidney stones, sleepless nights and unmanageable skin issues. I stumbled across the answers that would soon unlock some keys to my healing and recovery. Eliminating added sugars, eating whole non GMO food, fermenting and gardening, homeschooling and my continued learning. Come join my journey and continue your own. Please note: I do not claim to have all the answeres and base my FACTS on my own experiences and conclusions. Please take time to pray for healing and direction, research on your own, ask questions, seek out an expert and start low and slow. We are all created unique and live different lifestyles and nothing is the same for everyone. Be blessed on your journey. I owe it all to the creator of all things, glory be to God!

1 thought on “Facing Reality. Its all about the pie.”

Leave a Reply

