What! You don’t let your kids have sugar?

I have made some major changes this year, one being eliminating sugar from my diet and my kids diet, and have taken a lot of heat for it from others.  I feel like I am making the best choices for my children’s and my own health and for some reason, many feel that they must criticize and undermine me and tell me how terrible and mean I am being.

At birthday parties… “A little cake won’t hurt them.” Then comes candy from the piñata , ice cream and soda to top it all off.

Social gatherings… “Your mom won’t mind you having a little dessert” or two.

At the bank, from strangers… “What, they can’t have sugar? It’s only a sucker”

And still other times… “You can have it if you don’t tell you mom”

I don’t mind being the target, however, doing in front of or directly to my kids is not acceptable.  I have taught them why I have made these changes and they understand and don’t fight me.  I don’t need others to chime in and teach my kiddos to disobey or disregard my decisions.

I’m content being different and choosing to do the difficult in order to fight off disease.

My now five year old is just fine with it now.  I just remind him not to feed the worms.

Thanks be to God who gives us strength in our weekness.

Author: Healing Foodie

I am a mother of four children and 120 pounds on a heavy day. I grew up eating the average American diet and seemed pretty healthy until I found myself exhausted and struggling with kidney stones, sleepless nights and unmanageable skin issues. I stumbled across the answers that would soon unlock some keys to my healing and recovery. Eliminating added sugars, eating whole non GMO food, fermenting and gardening, homeschooling and my continued learning. Come join my journey and continue your own. Please note: I do not claim to have all the answeres and base my FACTS on my own experiences and conclusions. Please take time to pray for healing and direction, research on your own, ask questions, seek out an expert and start low and slow. We are all created unique and live different lifestyles and nothing is the same for everyone. Be blessed on your journey. I owe it all to the creator of all things, glory be to God!

Leave a Reply

